My favorite food in Chile so far…Completos! This video gives you a pretty good idea of how loaded these hot dogs are, and they taste even better than they look. My first dinner with my family here was homemade completos (although they weren’t quite as long as these ones). The truth is…if any kind of food includes avocados…I am going to love it.

So, naturally…one night last week, my host sister and I stopped at a completo shop on the side of the street after a late night at Café Journal (a local bar down the street). In Dinkytown, you stop by McDonald’s at 2:30 a.m. for a greasy burger and fries. Here, you stop at a rather sketchy corner shop for a completo. But, let me tell you…it was very satisfying, and a perfect end to the evening.

Yesterday morning, I waited for a friend in a cafe across from the completo shop. I didn’t have much to occupy myself, so I spent my time watching people crossing the street, dogs begging for food, venders selling ice cream, etc. Now, I wish I hadn’t noticed the completo shop across the street and the cook inside…picking his nose! It was no casual brushing, either. He was digging for gold. So, my late night treat from before was probably “completo” with boogers, too!

Moral of the story: don’t investigate what goes into your favorite food!

